Complex Optics Network Logo
Nebraska SkyUNL Logo
Home Contact Research Publications Press releases Search
   Home > News
  Most Recent  |   2018  |   2017  |   2016  |   2015  |   2014  |   2013  |   2012  |   2011  |   2010  |   2009  |   2008  |   2007  |   2006 and before  


Dec 18, 2014:

Professor Tino Hofmann was named Marie Curie Fellow and VINNMER Fellow. The Fellowship is supported by the EU Marie Curie Action and Sweden's innovation agency VINNOVA to progress tight collaboration between the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the University of Linköping, Sweden, and private enterprises in the US and Sweden. The goal of this collaboration between world-leading experts in epitaxial graphene growth in Sweden with experts in the Center of Nanohybrid Functional Materials at UNL is to design, manufacture, and characterize graphene-metal nanostructure hybrid materials for novel terahertz frequency devices.

Dec 16, 2014:

Professor John Woollam has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. Election to NAI Fellow is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society. The 170 Fellows named this year bring the total number of NAI Fellows to 414, representing research universities and governmental and nonprofit research institutions. more ...

Nov 14, 2014:

Chad Briley was awarded the 2014 Ellipsometry Focus Topic Award at the AVS 61th International Symposium & Exebition in Baltimore, Maryland. Chad Briley was selected by members of the Focus Topic Program Committee for the best contributed paper given by a graduate student. Chad's talk on "Vector Magneto-Optical Generalized Ellipsometry on Sculptured Thin Films with Forward Calculated Uniaxial Response Simulation" was selected as the winning contribution from three nominees from the University of Toledo and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The Ellipsometry Focus Topic Award at the AVS 61th international symposium was sponsored by the J.A.Woollam Co., Inc. of Lincoln, Nebraska.

Nov 12, 2014:

Congratulations to Derek Sekora for winning the "Men's overall" of the 34th Annual AVS Run. The AVS Run is the oldest professional society run on our planet and was held with the AVS 61st International Symposium & Exhibition in Baltimore, Maryland.more...

Apr 25, 2014:

Philipp Kuehne is the recipient of the 2014 UNL College of Engineering Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award.more...

Apr 25, 2014:

Congratulations to Derek Sekora, Ryan Davis and Dan Liang for being recognized at the 2014 EE graduate poster competition, held during the UNL Graduate Research Fair.more...

Apr 25, 2014:

Congratulations to Alyssa Koch for receiving a Milton E. Mohr Fellowship from the UNL College of Engineering. Milton E. Mohr (1915-2000) was described in his lifetime as ", inventor, entrepreneur, corporate leader" and was instrumental in providing key leadership to young adults. As an electrical engineer, corporate executive and philanthropist, Milton Mohr believed that becoming an entrepreneur and corporate leader requires a knowledge and experience base, and that one does not leap "...suddenly to corporate success." He was named America's Most Outstanding Young Electrical Engineer in 1948. The Milton E. Mohr Scholarship and Fellowship Awards Program was established in 1989 for students in the College of Engineering or Biotechnology degree programs. Students are selected on their academic performance and potential for accomplishments in their specific field. The scholarships and fellowships are made possible through an endowment to the University Foundation.